Author Inspired Field Trips.

More so than today (hello, time), when I was younger I was a voracious reader.  From learning to read my first chapter book (Charlotte’s Web), I had particular favorites growing up.  Maybe every young girl goes through this face, maybe they don’t, but I latched onto Laura Ingalls Wilder’s Little House series and didn’t let go.  I was fascinated by stories of her youth.  So, at some point in my life I can’t wait to make a trip to revisit some of the moments.  A brief search on google reveals there is a tour company that runs a four day trip through much of the territory Laura covered in her youth.  Definitely adding it to the bucket list!

Looking forward to my visit!

Additionally, I’ve shared my love of Maud Hart Lovelace in an earlier post, and don’t think my life will be complete without a trip to Mankato (near Minneapolis) and later Los Angeles to see where the author grew up and was inspired to write the Betsy-Tacy series.  Living abroad, both of these trips seem a bit far in the future, but I am looking forward to paying homage to the writers who inspired me to read and start writing from an early age.

 

Has any author inspired you in a similar way?

What are your thoughts?

