Writing non-fiction (and a peak into my fictional past).

It’s no secret that writing fiction is where I feel the most at home.  It’s something I’ve been doing literally since I learned to write (if I were at home, I would insert a picture of me, circa 1986 in a big red sweater, writing in Crayola crayon in my spiral notebook on the front porch of my parent’s house).  In late elementary school / middle and high school, I wrote obsessively in my journals (all of which are still at home).  After flirting with screenplays in college, I began to go after novel length type material in my mid-twenties, graduating to a series, two standalone projects, 2.5 adult works and a giant heap of fanfiction.

When a friend in a local writing group mentioned the Qatar Explorer was looking for reviewers, I had to admit, my interest was piqued.  Who cares if they couldn’t pay?  It would be a great way to see the city, try new restaurants and flex my non-fiction muscles.  The reviews I complete are not anything you would find in Bon Appetit (or whatever foodie periodicals are around these days), but I’d like to think the will offer some guidance to the newly arrived ex-patriate to Doha.  Part copy / part information / part my attempt at punchy and descriptive sentences, I’m not even sure how many of my words end up in the final edition, but I have to admit, a girl could get used to dining out for free.

Nice work if you can get it.

Shout out to the fantastic staff at the Intercontinental The City Doha for being amazing the past two weeks!

How do you stretch your writing muscles?  Is there another genre you dip into?

What are your thoughts?

