Thanks, Amazon – a new thing to obsess over.

Maybe other authors don’t get caught up in their numbers.  I, for one, do.  Literally, numbers can make me have a better or worse day.  I should divorce myself from letting returns, etc. bring me down, but as a self published author, it’s difficult.  Being self published adds such a personal involvement that it’s difficult not to take everything seriously. 

Enter, a new way I can judge myself!  Oh noes.

Image

If this helps readers find me more easily, I’m all for it, but I’m fairly certain my current demographic isn’t going to seek out the 3,927th author in the genre.  I wonder how it looks at the top – I’m looking at you, J.K. Rowling and Suzanne Collins.

What are your thoughts?

