The year in review / looking ahead.

Hard to believe 2012 is coming to an end.  Looking back, it seems strange I started this year thinking I might still go the way of traditional publishing – that I planned to publish a new book.  The reality of my situation was I needed to close out the world of Courtney Brandt.  And, I’m glad I didn’t rush to make anything under my new brand happen.  Furthermore, it’s not as if I’ve not done anything with the Ann Benjamin.  I’ve regularly posted on this blog.  I’ve gained nearly 100 followers on Twitter, more than that on Tumblr, a few less on Facebook and invested funds in what will hopefully be a fancy cover for Room 702.  I traveled to new countries.  I started the sequel to a previous novel.  I pinned and daydreamed about other books.  I wrote fanfiction.  All in all, I think this year exemplified a good balance.  However, in looking ahead to 2013, I know my focus needs to be much more on the Ann Benjamin side of the house.

How will I accomplish this?

Since early 2007, I have focused a lot of time, energy and funds into my marching novels.  This ‘hobby’ (for lack of a better word) has been a part of my day, every day, for almost 6 years.  Most notably, in the past two years, I’ve put a good deal of effort into my Tumblr account for the marching arts.  Through it, I’ve connected with my audience in a different way – and, after failed and less than successful attempts in social media – love all that Tumblr has done for me.  However, going forward, I’m going to severely limit the time I devote to these endeavors.  As difficult as it might be, I think it’s time to let the books go.  I gave them everything I had and whatever successes they find from 2013 forward I will be happy to see, but will not invest much time in.  Short of the producer calling me up and telling me that Nickelodeon has put forth an order for 12 episodes based on my book, I’ve been mentally preparing myself that on January 1, 2013, it’s time for someone else to step up and be ‘miss marching band.’

Easier said than done, I think, hence why I’m putting this out into the universe via blog post.

So, I start 2013 ready, willing and able to become more Ann Benjamin.  I can’t wait to see what her successes are going to be!

What are your thoughts?

