Something I’ve always wanted to do.

0BI4H

I found this post at a favorite site I lurk at (fandom secrets) and it immediately struck a chord with me.  At some point I think (hope!) I’ve mentioned my love for the world of Betsy-Tacy by Maud Hart Lovelace.  This series, along with the brilliant Tamora Pierce were some of the first books I read (and would read over and over).  From Ms. Lovelace, I latched onto (and haven’t let go) a sense of innocent teenage fun (the books are set in the 1910’s).  The main character, Betsy Ray, went through high school much as I did (or wished I had).  She crushed on boys, went to dances, flirted with changing her personality, had fun with her two best friends and above all – struggled to find herself as a writer.

At some point in the past 5 years, I’ve thought exactly about the above statement.  I’ve even gone so far as to write a few pages.  Why did I stop?  Well, mostly because of legal reasons.  I don’t know who is in charge of Ms. Lovelace’s estate and the creative property (her characters).  Furthermore, I’m not sure how the would react to an unliscensed reboot.  Also, I have plenty of others things to write.  Also, if I really wanted to, I’m guessing there is a section of fanfiction.net where I could try a few things out and see what the response is.  Still, if some distant day in the future where I have been dead a number of years and someone wants to reboot my characters, I can’t say that I would have any issue with it (and hopefully, neither would anyone in my estate).

So, if not me, who else?  I know that Meg Cabot (a wonderful YA author) has mentioned Maud Hart Lovelace in the past.  Sure, I’ve written seven YA books of my own, but if Ms. Cabot was given the greenlight by Ms. Lovelace’s estate, then many more readers would be aware of Betsy, Tacy and Tib and that would definitely be okay in my book.

What about you, reader?  Are there any beloved series you would like to see rebooted?  Any creative work that you enjoy but the rest of the world doesn’t know about?  Let me know!

What are your thoughts?

