Positive Challenge: Day Eleven.

Day eleven.
Take a risk today. Do something for yourself that you’ve always wanted to do. Share a secret, confront someone about something that’s been bothering you, share your feelings with someone, etc. How did you feel? Do you regret it?

Here’s what I really want to do.  Stop working on my stupid manuscript that is terrible and refuses to be complete.  I desperately wanted to put it away as a complete rough draft before picking up Room 702, but if I ‘take a risk’ and put it away without finishing it, what’s the worst that can happen?  It can’t get any more terrible than it already is.  The additional risk, of course, being that, this is (I think) the second time I’ve taken a break from the book, which I don’t think is a good thing.  I’m too pragmatic to start completely over (we’re talking about almost 85,000 words here), so I think I will finish today wherever I finish (which is very near the end), save the draft and tomorrow get started on editing Room 702.

I am lucky enough to have a colleague (who is also a writer) and I will share this with her tomorrow (when we’re both back – eep! to work).   She’s been writing longer than I have and I think will be able to provide honest feedback about the process.  I expect to feel better after to speaking with her.

What are your thoughts?

