Struggling w/editing.

Have I mentioned this before?  Maybe…  Probably.  So, here’s my next struggle.  I’ve never had some professionally edit my work.  I never considered it with my YA series.  It’s not to say that I wouldn’t have benefited from this service, it just never happened.  But now, I don’t know.  I think it’s part of a much bigger struggle and this is it:  in the past, with a limited investment of money, I always figured, ‘meh – writing is an inexpensive hobby.  I got what I needed from it.’  Now, on the verge of launching my next project / brand, I told myself, I would do everything I hadn’t done in the past.  Thus far, I’ve held up my end of the bargain – I contracted a professional cover artist and 4 months later am generally happy with the outcome.

So here’s the thing.

My fear is that I’m going to spend all this money on my new stuff and I’m only going to achieve the same degree of success I have previously.  Or less success.  While I’m okay with the money I’ve spent to date, the next step – editing – is pretty substantial and represents more than I’ve spent previously on any of my other books.  What if I spend all that money and nothing happens?  What if I do everything ‘right’ and nothing comes from it?

In additional to fear, there is doubt.

I think my concern is that I know of two other (self published) authors who have had their work edited.  One…I won’t get into.  The other, found the editing mostly helpful, but like me, I’m not sure she was convinced that the price matched the contribution and development of her story. The thing is, as an author, this not something you can research and come to an educated decision.  Each book is different.

At the end of the day, I think I’m going to listen to the little voice that says ‘it’s not ready yet.’  At the moment, the only way to get it 100% ready is to involve an outside source.

tumblr_lv13bsZJ3K1r1fz0co7_250

What are your thoughts?

