Conferences I would like to attend.

In addition to the unlimited budget that I would require for fictional book launches, if I had all the time and money in the world, there are a bunch of workshops and conferences I would like to attend:

  • The Travel Convention
  • Travel Bloggers Unite
  • The Hotel Show
  • ATM Dubai
  • Boutique Hotel Summit
  • World Travel Market
  • Any TED event
  • I’m sure there’s at least 10 more but I don’t feel like researching them right now
  • I’m also fairly certain I should probably have at least one writing conference on this list

This is actually a vague larger concept I had for a book / life experience.  Having worked a few conventions,  I think it would be fun to personally go around the world attending a variety of conferences (working them, not so much).  I don’t know about you, but attending a workshop, conference or retreat is this small little window to kind of check out from the rest of your life.  Depending on what you do for a living, there is a limited circle of people to engage with — your coworkers, family, clients, friends.  Going to a conference – surrounding yourself with like-minded others, there’s an energy that encompasses those few days.  It’s more than the hotel meeting rooms and coffee breaks, it’s about meeting new people and creating networks.  Maybe you won’t be lifelong friends with the attendees, but maybe you’ll have some sort of spark or short term friendship that will pay off later.

Where are you, Morgan Spurlock?  I feel like this is something right up your alley.

What are your thoughts?

