Book Review: Golem and the Jinni

This novel popped up on my radar a few months back (thank you, Goodreads monthly newsletter).  With some time last week and in the mood to read something new, I downloaded the book.  Instantly, I was drawn into the story and spent the entire weekend tearing through it.  When trying to describe the novel to a friend over the weekend, I was at a bit of a loss.  What made the story so good?  Why was it so compelling?  Why exactly could I not put it down?

The blend of history, voice, pacing, character development (and supporting cast) and originality are difficult to beat.  Furthermore, the inclusion of supernatural and mystical elements really stand out.  However, as I was reading, I realized the Golem and the Jinni doesn’t fall neatly into a particular category and I wondered how the pitch went for the book.  It could be classified as history or fantasy.  Furthermore, it’s so unique, I can’t even really say, ‘did you like this? well, then you’ll really enjoy Ms. Wecker’s work.’  Basically, just read the book.  You won’t be let down.

images
Read this book!

What are your thoughts?

