Book(s) review: The Divergent Series by Veronica Roth

PS – MAJOR spoilers, consider yourselves warned.

photo-1

So, earlier this year, I read Divergent by Veronica Roth.  What can I say?  Not only do I love me some dystopian YA, but I also loved the price point ($3.99, yes, this is a big deal to me).  I immediately downloaded the next book in the series, Insurgent, and even pre-ordered Alleigant, patiently waiting for the 3rd book to become available (I did the same with the Hunger Games).

And now that I’ve finished reading, all I can think is, ‘what wasted potential.’

Of course, parallels will be made between Tris Prior and Katniss Everdeen and they should.  While I respect both young (fictional) women and their complexities (and how far superior they are to Bella Swan), in the end, Katniss comes out ahead for me.  Katniss, for better or worse, makes in character decisions, which, unfortunately, Tris completely derails from in Alleigant.

What I also can’t fathom is Ms. Roth’s decision to go from a singularly voiced novel (1st person, Tris) to a dual voice in the last book of the series (Tris and Four).  Furthermore, because the two characters aren’t really that different, I would go right into one the other character’s chapter and get jarred into, ‘Oh yeah, it’s not the protagonist.’  The choice is odd and doesn’t add anything to the book – if anything, it distracts.

And finally, the ending.

01-how-about-no-bear

While I still have issues with Mockingjay, in the end, I think Suzanne Collins does her world  and characters justice.  And yet, for the Divergent world, I have to ask, Veronica Roth…why?  Why did your editor / publisher / betas let you do this to your so wonderfully constructed fictional space?  Character death(s) aside, the close of this series is beyond disheartening, hastily thrown together and leaves an altogether bad taste in my mouth.

Would I recommend the series?  That’s difficult to answer.  The first two books are very worth it, but the end is just…a disappointment.

One thought on “Book(s) review: The Divergent Series by Veronica Roth

What are your thoughts?

