P.S. I…Like You (Sort Of)

In research for my current WIP, as mentioned, I am reading (in this case, re-reading) books and watching movies that have to do with the topic (widowhood).  Top of the list was P.S. I Love You by Cecelia Ahern.  I must have read this around 10 years ago, because I didn’t remember much of it (nor did I remember exactly how whiny the protagonist was, nor how weird/annoying the supporting cast was, or how the book ended).  It should be no surprise then, that in this strange instance, I much preferred the movie to the book.  The book went a bit longer than I would’ve liked it to and I feel like nearly 15-20% of it could have been chopped (which is evident in the film).  I also like how the film deviated from the ending of the book towards something a bit more optimistic.

What I did like about the book was how the husband (spoilers – he’s dead!) was still very much a character in the novel (much more so than the whinefest of Year of Pleasures).  If there are any takeaways I have from my week of PS I Love You, it’s that even though someone is dead, it doesn’t mean they can’t be a great supporting character.

p_s_i_love_you_ver3
Never mind the strange language – the movie is a pretty decent RomCom.
ceceliaahern_psiloveyou
Watch the movie instead!

Ultimately, my biggest question was, now that I’ve finished the book, would I read another Cecelia Ahern novel?  The answer, unfortunately, is no.

One thought on “P.S. I…Like You (Sort Of)

What are your thoughts?

