Lovely artwork (and belated review of Fangirl).

 

First of all, some brilliant fan artwork entitled Fanception by palnnk (link to original on Deviant Art).tumblr_n5ygpwYc3F1rusnwyo1_500

 

This fantastic artwork is based on the book Fangirl by Rainbow Rowell.  I read the novel awhile back and neglected to write a review, but I thought the book was fantastic – it really captured what it’s like to be an awkward young woman in college.  The transition from high school to university isn’t always an easy one, so I loved how Ms. Rowell presented the challenged (especially for an introvert).  My love of the book aside, as a long time fanfiction writer, this image really spoke to me.  For those who don’t know, the incandescent rabbits circulating the characters are what we writers like to refer to as ‘plot bunnies.’  I don’t think I’ve ever seen these devices portrayed so well.

Writing is a very individual activity.  In not quite the vivid detail as above, I love how my characters exist only in my mind and the crazy things the bunnies come up with while I’m writing.  Translating it all to the page is what makes the rough draft my favorite part of the writing process.

Maybe the picture makes no sense to you, but to me it’s a pitch perfect view of my head.

2 thoughts on “Lovely artwork (and belated review of Fangirl).

What are your thoughts?

