The Trip That Changed My Life.

I’ve been fortunate to be on some amazing trips in my various journeys.  The one that had the biggest impact on my life was when I was 19 – I went to Thailand and Malaysia with my friend Josh.  The reason it changed things so drastically for me was the echo it had with my parents.  So, I’m not a parent and don’t planning on becoming one.  I have no idea what it is to let a child go out into the world, but you can imagine my parents were none to happy with me coming home and announcing I was going halfway around the world with someone they had never met.  I dug in.  Threats were made about pulling my financial support, but I kept firm.  Two weeks before I turned 20, I took off for Thaliand (by way of Korea).  The trip was equal parts fun and crazy – I got sunburned, I sunbathed topless, I met cute Irish boys, I ate peanut butter and jelly sandwiches and pad thai and kimchi fell in love with banana pancakes.  I drove a moped after learning how to start and drive it in under five minutes (in busy traffic).   I climbed waterfalls.  This was before internet (really).  I can’t even remember how I let my family know I was safely in Thailand.

tumblr_n2vbcxBeAk1qlwjbho4_250
I have pictures of the trip – but they are home in the States and I am here in the Emirates.

I returned as someone who wanted to see the world – and have been trying to do so ever since!  It wouldn’t be my last trip with Josh, nor would it be my last trip to Thailand.

What are your thoughts?

