Book Review: Splitting the Difference: A Heart-Shaped Memoir by Tre Miller Rodriguez

As I close in on the first draft of Have You Met Joe?/Life After Joe I’m having an existential crisis about the title, NBD, I am getting back on the widow wagon and delving back into the literary world on this topic.  (With looking into some contemporary road trip books as well – recommendations welcome).  Ms. Rodriguez runs the well known White Elephant in the Room blog.  I also stumbled into her story via the New York Times’ Modern Love Essays.

This book is absolutely heartbreaking – in the best possible way.  This account is hands down the most honest blow by blow of the widow experience.  I didn’t realize how much my current WIP was lacking until I started reading – and then found myself highlighting sections on almost every other page.  Ms. Rodriguez takes on a personally devastating topic and shares it in a engaging method.  As a reader, you have a front row seat to a tragedy that someone survived.  The stream of consciousness style perfectly suits what I can only imagine to be the most difficult experience a person can go through.  Brava, Ms. Rodriguez, you are an incredibly brave and strong woman.  Please sincerely accept my condolences for your loss, but also my appreciation for capturing your husband and the relationship you shared in such a wonderful way.  I’m going to give Hubs an extra long hug when I get home!

Tre-Miller-Last-Bookstore
Highly recommend.

 

2 thoughts on “Book Review: Splitting the Difference: A Heart-Shaped Memoir by Tre Miller Rodriguez

What are your thoughts?

