In which the author looks like herself.

So, it has occurred to me for some time that my author head shots were a tad out of date.  And by ‘out of date’ I mean they were taken during the summer of 2008.  As I’m now much closer to 35 than 28 years of age, I decided it was time to arrange a session to remedy this.  Fortunately, I happen to know an AMAZING photographer and when I mentioned I was going to be stateside, she agreed to help me out.  As Heidi had also taken my original session, I felt lucky to nab her again (she’s usually a wedding photographer).

courtney brandt
My very first ‘professional picture’ circa age 24.  The Brandt cheeks are strong with this one.

 

DSC_3009
The author at 28 (from my original photo session).  Photo by Heidi Ryder.

And on a fine Wednesday in February, the same group (Heidi and my husband) went out into the magic hour to get the below images.  These were the best least awkward of the batch because I am terrible at being in pictures and missed that day at girl school.  And yes, the looks below are a result of professional hair and make up – I do not possess these skills and am more than happy to pay for them.  And yes, I did forget to wear an awesome necklace that I had packed, and now I also kind of wish I had painted my nails.  Oh well, life goes on.

PicMonkey Collage
In which I like leaning on things.

So, why bother?  I bother because I like to have a professional face to put forward into the world.  It isn’t some sort of beauty contest – it’s more that, ‘hey – this is me, I am a real person and worth buying a book from.’  As I hope to put more effort into my writing career, I want to have an image ready to send that I feel confident about and now I have that photo.  Thank you, Heidi!

What about you, do you have a professional picture of yourself?  Do you find it useful?

All photos by Heidi Ryder.

 

What are your thoughts?

