Book Review: The Royal We

I marked The Royal We as ‘research’ for my Queen project, but really, I just wanted to read it.  I had downloaded the free 7 chapter sample last week and the marketing technique worked – I was hooked and desperate to finish the story.  When the price dropped from $12.99 to $9.99, I jumped.  The novel is one patterned (obviously) on the real life romance of Prince William and Duchess Catherine Middleton.  Ms. Cocks and Ms. Morgan (you hopefully know them from their wildly popular website, Go Fug Yourself, which if you do not frequent, you need to start), do a brilliant job taking us behind the scenes of what the royal relationship could have been like.

I’m not sure what exactly it was, but I straight up loved this book.  Yes, it was a bit long and yes, there were a few too many characters, but I found myself really invested in the main storyline.  I cannot WAIT for this to be made into a movie.  I enjoyed the subtle inside jokes from that long time readers of GFY would get, I liked the reality in which the relationship developed and the humor throughout.

heather-cocks-jessica-morgan-theroyalwe

Additionally, while it’s listed an adult novel, I would place this book as a perfect example of the ‘new adult’ genre.  Even if the experiences are a bit spectacular (we can’t all be dating the future King of England, after all), the reality of being in college and transition to real life is one would place similar to Rainbow Rowell’s Fangirl.

Well done, Fug Girls!

What are your thoughts?

