Finally – the book trailer for Life After Joe.

I’ve had iMovie open for about 3 weeks and the book trailer for Life After Joe was mostly complete.  But I didn’t like it.  And I couldn’t figure out what wasn’t clicking and why I didn’t want to finish it.  And then I realized it was the song.  I had gone with the Flaming Lips cover of Madonna’s Borderline, mainly for the extended intro.  I had also briefly considered a cover of Higher Love, which I may end up using somewhere, I’m not sure yet.

Today, while on the treadmill, Beyoncé’s XO came on and I was like, “Yup, this is the one.”  It’s not so much that I don’t love Queen Bey, or that I hadn’t heard the song a bunch of times previously, but while huffing and puffing, the lyrics popped out and I knew it was perfect.  No, I don’t have the rights to this song, but for a silly little book trailer, I think it works.

Your love is bright as ever (ever, ever, ever)
Even in the shadows (shadows, shadows, shadows)

Before they turn the lights out (the lights out)
Baby, love me lights out…

In the darkest night hour (in the darkest night hour)
I’ll search through the crowd (I’ll search through the crowd).

What do you think?

What are your thoughts?

