In which I epically fail…and that’s okay.

So, Hubs and I are in the Seychelles.  We are here to celebrate his birthday (today!) and had every intention of becoming open water PADI certified (together).  I passed the physical test (swimming out 100m, treading water for 10 minutes and then swimming back) and spent a morning reading all about scuba safety on the beach, but yesterday for our pool session, I failed.  The only thing I managed to do right was breathe from the regulator.  I couldn’t put the equipment together correctly.  I didn’t get in the pool correctly.  My weight belt was wrong.  I couldn’t flush water from my mask.  For every moment I was underwater, I couldn’t wait to get back to the surface.  Somehow, I managed to get through (and tried to limit launching myself to the surface on a limited number of occasions).  I don’t blame (at all) the instructor who was nothing but patient and professional.

tumblr_lqdnqpJ6Mi1r1gmn2o2_500
Me, trying to keep a straight face during class.

After we were all packed up, guys, I did something I haven’t done in a very long time.  I straight up cried.

I cried because I was frustrated – at myself, at how disappointed I was.

To add insult to injury, my ears are hella clogged and painful.

Anyway, I’m listening to my body.  For the time being, I’m not meant to be a scuba diver.  It sucks, but it’s the truth.  I’m not meant to be awesome at everything.  And humans weren’t meant to breathe underwater.

12006376_10156003907885627_3845067823531795474_n
Fortunately, the view makes up for my suckiness.

Have you tried and failed spectacularly?

2 thoughts on “In which I epically fail…and that’s okay.

What are your thoughts?

