The Year of Saying Yes

Ever since my decision to quit the real world, I’ve been kicking around a few ideas of what exactly next year will look like.  Other than publishing The Queen of England: Coronation and completing Book #2, at the top of the list is a concept I’m calling ‘The Year of Saying Yes.’  It’s mostly because, for unknown reasons, I find myself on the distribution list for a number of local events and invitations within the UAE.  Given I (currently) have a full time job, it’s practically impossible to RSVP ‘yes’ to pretty much anything.

Next year, I want to change that.

1365488144_jimcarreyyesman
It could happen.

No matter how random the event, if it is within my ability to attend, I’m going to try and say ‘yes.’

And in the spirit of ‘yes,’ I tested the waters last night.  There was an offer to attend a (free) film master class with Italian film director Alina Marazzi (yes, working on a campus like NYUAD can sometimes be a good thing). Although it’s not something I would usually attend, I decided it was time to make a change.  So, I sent my RSVP and showed up at the appointed time.

Did the session change my life or creative direction?  It did not.

Did I have some insight into two of my WIPs?  I did.

Was it interesting to listen to another creative type discuss their work and process?  It was.

Will I always sit next to the person making the most noise and creating the most distractions?  I will.  

Would I attend something similar if it was offered before I leave?  Yes, I would.

tumblr_nb1ybjmxqh1r4grm0o2_500
This is my ‘yes’ face.

What are your thoughts?

