Book Review: The Art Forger

This book came up as a Kindle Deal recently ($1.99) and after reading the blurb, I thought ‘what the heck?’  It doesn’t fall into any of my research categories, but sometimes I just like to read a book.  For the most part, I liked the novel and would most likely recommend it to others.  Unfortunately, while reading, I found myself comparing it to Donna Tartt’s infinitely superior The Goldfinch.

Pros?  Interesting and creative story. Tons of well researched information about the art process, history and location.  A good grasp of taking a visual medium (art) into the written form (literature).  Some wonderful quotes about the creative process.  I wouldn’t be surprised if this novel had been optioned for film adaptation.

Cons?  Far too much detail.  Repetition of ideas.  A sense of ‘just get on with it’ already.  A protagonist who gets absolutely torched not once, but twice by the men in her life.  A underdeveloped and inaccessible main character with a storyline that was bumpy.  I found myself skimming major chunks of chapters to get to where the action was finally moving.

24
Yes, for $1.99.

Honestly, on a scale of 1-5, I would give the book a 3.

Have you read the book?  What are your thoughts?

One thought on “Book Review: The Art Forger

What are your thoughts?

