Never Going Back Again.

I did the thing today.

Although it’s been in the aether for awhile (and the letter has been drafted for over a week), today was the day I submitted my resignation letter to my current employer, with effect January 28, 2016.

As I drove into work this morning, I had a big smile on my face and even turned down the radio to simply sing aloud.

I don’t know exactly what the future holds, but I’m excited for it.  I’ve had a few moments this week where I’ve wanted to open up one of my manuscripts and do something, but I know that’s not fair to myself (or my books).  If I’m going to do this author/freelance/stay at home wife/hiatus thing for real, I need to not be distracted by the 40,000 other things that are going in my life. I need to be in the right space to create, edit and write.  I’m not trying to excuse my other novels (as they did not have this luxury), I simply look forward to only concentrating on one or two projects and leaving a toxic environment far behind.

Funnily enough, I’m not scared or nervous (maybe those feelings will come as we get closer to January, or later in 2016 when I don’t have a solid paycheck), but optimistic.  No, I’ve not had a lot of book sales recently.  No,  I haven’t received a large number of positive reviews.  Yes, I still need to move cities, find a new home and all the other things that go with relocating before I can even get started with my projects.  However, I can already picture my first day in my new office, steaming cup of tea nearby, opening my files on my big desktop computer and getting straight to work.  No distractions.  No hazards.  Just me and my creativity.

6 thoughts on “Never Going Back Again.

What are your thoughts?

