Cool Asks for Fiction Writers.

  • Describe yourself how you would describe a character you’re introducing.

She was a thirty-something author with green eyes and a penchant for travel.

  • Is there any specific ritual you go through while/before/after your writing?

No, but I want to find one/start one.  I had a writer friend who would always light a candle at the start of each writing session and I’ve always liked the idea. (Lighting candles is problematic at work, where I seem to do a fair amount of writing, so I’m looking forward to a dedicated office space next year).

  • What is your absolute favorite kind of fic to write?

Fanfic.  There are no rules and you are almost always writing for an audience who will wholeheartedly enjoy your work.  That said, I’m a special fan of the light and dark ends of the spectrum – it’s either super fluff or killing off characters, there’s little in between.

  • Are there any other fic writers you admire? If so, who and why?

Literally too many to name.  ALL the writers!

  • How many words can you write if you sit down and concentrate intensely for an hour?

If the ideas and words are flowing, probably 1,000 – maybe 1,200.  I tend to aim for daily word counts of 1,000-1,500 words.

  • First fic/pairing you wrote for? (If no pairing, describe the plot).

These gorgeous nerds.  I still love them (and write about them from time to time).

  • Inspiration, time, or motivation. Choose two.

Inspiration and motivation.  I’ll always find make the time

  • Why do you choose to write?

What else am I going to do with all these ideas?  They are my stories to tell and I’ll keep writing them until I’m out of ideas.

  • Do you ever have plans to write anything other than fic?

Fic allowed me to write original fiction.  So, the question should be more centered around when I’m going to get back to fic.

  • What inspires you the most?

Music and art.  The lyric of a song.  It doesn’t take much to set off my creative spark.

  • Weirdest thing you’ve ever written/thought about writing/etc.?

My most recent idea centers around a murder/accidental death at a high school, a missing alias and someone losing their virginity.  Not sure if I see this one actually happening.

  • A fix you wish you had written better, and why?

In my YA work, there are certain cliches I’ve used to often (someone mistaking a situation for something that it is not).  If I went back for a rewrite, I would figure out some other plot device.

  • Favorite fic from another author?

Again, ALL the fic.

  • Your favorite side pairings to put in?

Depends on the fandom.  In my original fandom, it was the canon main couple who I constantly neglected that was fun to work in (since I like concentrating on the side pairings).

  • Your guilty writing pleasure?

Well, fic.  Without much time to write my OCs, fic has taken a back burner.  I hope to revisit some short story ideas in 2016.

  • Do you have structured ideas of how your story is supposed to go, or make it up as you write?

I always have a beginning and an end.  In the rough draft, I let my characters go for whatever they want.  In future drafts, I’ll work out the details and chop what needs to be cut, but it’s fun to see where I go when there are no rules.

tumblr_nlmmvwxUSx1uo6pjyo1_500

  • Would you describe yourself as a fast writer?

Relatively.  Even when working full time, I tend to finish writing a book in 5-6 months.

  • How old were you when you started writing?

I’ve literally always written – stories, plays, scenes.  I think I made the choice to focus on novels versus screenplays in my early twenties (even though next year I’ll be getting back to screenplays).

  • Why did you start writing?

There’s always stories to tell.  To think that an entire world can be created simply because words are strung together is a pretty powerful thing.

  • 4 sentences from your work that you’re proud of.

Just four?  Here’s something completely out of context that I wrote in 2009 (the prompt was Seven Deadly Sins, I think you can guess which one this was about).

Her body, curved and lithe, silky and smooth, inspired most who saw her to reverently claim she was descended from the goddess Venus herself, an immortal daughter who walked the Earth, designated to lead men astray. Most did not make it past a single glance – lost forever to the large blue bedroom eyes, surrounded by a nimbus of pale lengthy lashes. Bordering between cerulean and the wild sea she was allegedly born from, they could shift between simpering and seductive in a heartbeat.

She was quite literally made for sin.

What are your thoughts?

