Visual insight into editing.

Going into the (almost) final draft…and the above illustration is a fairly accurate representation of what it is to edit a novel.  I’m currently in the phase of ‘some of this is good, but some of this is I wish magical writing fairies would come along and fix.’  This phase is better than ‘why did I write this book at all?,’ but not by much.

For the twenty or so first drafts I sent out, I’ve heard back from four people so far (with 3 in the category of really enjoying it and one who was harsh, but in a good way).  Although to be fair, no author wants to hear ‘the narrator has a snooty voice that is unbecoming.’  I mean, my protagonist IS the Queen of England, so I think she’s allowed some slack in this category…

 

 

What are your thoughts?

