Research for the Queen of England: Coronation, A Reading List

Although this list is fairly documented on Goodreads (I’d love to have you follow me!), I thought a selection was worth sharing here.  And let’s just forget that there are still a TON of books in this category I have on my ‘to be read’ list (and will be referenced for the second and third installments in my series).  The below books were chosen for a number of reasons — the time period, the world building, a strong female protagonist, or straight up history.  Perhaps I liked how the pacing or supporting characters, or maybe I studied how my story might be different.  Anyway, if you like my Queen, I would definitely encourage you to read any of the following.

Parasol Protectorate (series by Gail Carriger)

Finishing School (series by Gail Carriger)

Rebel Mechanics (series by Shanna Swendon)

Stoker & Holmes (series by Colleen Gleason)

The Infernal Devices (series by Cassandra Clare)

Steel and Fire (series by Jordan Rivet)

Queen of the Tearling (series by Erika Johansen)

Steampunk Chronicles (series by Kady Cross)

Almost everything by Sarah Maas

My Lady Jane

Karen Memory

Six of Crows (both books)

The Iron Duke (and other works by Meljen)

A lot of Victoria biographies

My research was not only in books, I also included graphic novels, movies, and television:

The Crown

Victoria

Lady Mechanika

Batman: Gotham by Gaslight

Belle

King Arthur: Legend of the Sword

The Young Victoria

What are your thoughts?

