PopSugar 2022 Reading Challenge.

  • A book published in 2022 – I’m not saying that Take Three at Mulholland High will be published next year, but I’m also not NOT saying that. Check out the first of the two books in the series here.
  • A book set on a plane, train, or cruise ship – A very pivotal scene of Twenty Year Reunion takes place on a private plane… Just saying.
  • A book about or set in a non-patriarchal society – While the events of The Queen of England trilogy do feature some men, with a literal queen, I’d like to think my AU steps out of a patriarchal society quite a bit.
  • A book about the afterlife – While not the main character, in Life After Joe, there is a lot of discussion about life after death (and what comes next for those left behind).
  • A book that takes place during your favorite season – if it’s Fall, it’s marching band. Try Confessions of a Teenage Band Geek.
  • A book about a band or musical group – double dipping here with Twenty Year Reunion and Quinn Martel.
  • A book set during a holidayRoom 702 literally has them all. And also, you can cross off the book that features two languages in the advanced category as well!
  • A different book by an author you read in 2021 – you can find all my books here, or here.
  • A book with two POVs – check out Take One (and Take Two) at Mulholland High, both feature Chloe and Ali as dual protagonists.

Hope that gets you started — happy reading!

A reminder that all of my books are free to read via Kindle Unlimited.

The Line series, new covers.

With my upcoming rerelease of Confessions of a Teenage Band Geek, I thought it was well past time to get new covers up for The Line series.  While I don’t expect a lot of sales, nor did I put a ton of money (obviously) into these, I wanted something that was more cohesive as a series, and a step up from the rather antiquated previous covers.  At some point, I would love to revisit these books to edit and release them, but for now, my hope is that they might find a few new readers.

Take One at Mulholland High, now available!

It’s here, and it doesn’t seem real!  Buy it on Amazon.  More coming, but for now, I’m just so happy the book is finally available.  The journey from 2007 has been a long one, but I’m very proud of the result.

Life is about to get real in Mulholland Creek.

Hoover High sophomore, Ali Harvist, and reality show ‘It’ girl, Chloe Winterhaven, exist in two completely different worlds. When Ali’s family abruptly relocates from Ohio to the exclusive oceanside community of Mulholland Creek, California, the lives of these young women unexpectedly collide. Attending the same school that serves as a backdrop for the hit television show Mulholland High only adds to the drama. In alternating first-person chapters, follow the young women as they contend with an exclusive play premiere, a manipulative (and unfortunately all-too attractive) ex-boyfriend, budding new loves, and a slimy executive producer – all while the cameras are rolling!

Take One at Mulholland High is a light-hearted novel perfect for fans of Meg Cabot and MTV’s The Hills.

Book by numbers (Confessions edition).

It’s been another minute, hasn’t it?  I’ve been super committed to editing, updating, and generally overhauling Confessions of a Teenage Band Geek.  As you’ll note previously, I have signed an agreement with a small press and I’m looking forward to the process of sharing the project with a new audience.

From what I can tell, I wrote the first draft of Confessions (original title, Crossing the Line) in 2006 (!). It was published in 2011, so let’s just say that technology has moved forward, as have I — as a writer, and a person.

Editing the book was relatively straightforward.  I had notes to incorporate, language to change, characters to better develop, well, you get the idea.  I’m turning in my new ‘first’ draft today, and am really excited to make this book its best possible version. There is still a ways to go, but I was glad to see a lot of progress in this draft.

So, what changed?  What was I looking for?

  • Too many white characters.
  • Too many similar names.
  • Too many adverbs (spoiler alert, there are still too many).
  • 700+, instances of the word ‘it.’
  • 500+, use of the word ‘that.’
  • 1, use of the word bi-polar (and not in a good way).
  • 65,525, original word count.
  • 68,723, new word count. That is after…
    • Cutting a lot of extra stuff.
    • Adding in necessary (and previously missing) scenes.
  • 16,000+, words on the sequel (from earlier in the summer).

I’ll keep you updated on what the next draft looks like!  It’s due back to me in September.

It’s your lucky day (a day early)!

Hey there!  Guess what?  Tomorrow is my birthday!  (And it’s one of the big ones).  In honor of my big day, I decided I wanted to give something back to readers, friends, and family.  Therefore, please download The Queen of England: Coronation (Book #1 in the The Queen of England series) for free, now through March 19th.

Tell a friend.

Leave a review.

Enjoy the book!

(And don’t forget to wear something green tomorrow).

 

Throwback Thursday.

https://platform.twitter.com/widgets.js

 

https://platform.twitter.com/widgets.js

I recently found out you can look up your name on Twitter – and found a few things!  Please allow this moment of self-promotion.  Thank you!  Also, please feel free to follow me on Twitter (I’m very political over there).