PopSugar 2021 challenge.

My favorite time of year!  Check out the challenges for 2020, 2019, and 2018, if you’d like. And find the original PopSugar post here.

If you’re looking for some suggestions from my books, might you consider the following?

  • A genre hybrid. I’ve always thought Room 702 has been a cross of a number of genres. Given the number of stories that take place in the room, there’s no specific category the book fits into.
  • A book that has fewer than 1,000 reviews. One of my newer books, Take One at Mulholland High is such a great novel, and I’d love to get more reviews on it.
  • A book set in multiple counties. Lookin no further than The Queen of England: Grand Tour.  It’s right there in the title, but Juliette visits a number of countries (both real, and fictional).
  • A book you think your best friend would like. Personally, I think just about anyone would like the light-hearted Twenty Year Reunion, but that’s just me.
  • A book about forgetting. Life After Joe is about both remembering and forgetting, the process of grief and moving on.
  • A magical realism book. The Queen of England: Coronation kicks things off with a healthy dose of magical realism, which is continued throughout the trilogy.

Best of all? All of my books are free to read if you have Kindle Unlimited!  Happy reading.

Let me know if you have any suggestions for the remainder of the list!

Casting for Take One at Mulholland High.

Given that I started this book in 2007, I’m sure my original co-author and I had specific ‘actresses’ from The Hills in mind when we were writing.  Now, (ahem) a few years later, I have a few different ideas for who I would cast as my leads for Take One at Mulholland High.  I love doing this particular experiment for all my books, and Mulholland is no exception.

Candice Accola King // Chloe Winterhaven

Obviously, she’s a bit older than a teenager now, but Ms. King circa Vampire Diaries would have been perfect!

Ali Harvist // Kacey Rohl

There is a bit of a girl next door vibe with Ms. Rohl, which I think would be perfect for Ali.  (I’ll just have to get over the eye color for now).

Nick Jonas // Ben Paulson

Floppy hair? Check! Adorable? Also, check. While obviously Mr. Jonas is a bit too old for the role now, I think he would’ve been perfect in his teenage years.

Steven Harvist // Gregg Sulkin

Although I don’t think Steven Harvist would ever smile or pose like this, Mr. Sulkin has the geeky cuteness that Steven embodies.

Blade Mathers // Florian Kampen

 Sorry, Florian, but your face has the slightly smarmy quality I am looking for in Blade Mathers.

Pepper Laughlin // Ashleigh Murray

Ms. Murray is probably the only current actress from my list who would be able to be cast, but I think she’s got the right energy to play Chloe’s best friend.

 

Did you picture anyone else while reading the book?  I’d love to hear your suggestions or fan cast!

 

Take One at Mulholland High, now available!

It’s here, and it doesn’t seem real!  Buy it on Amazon.  More coming, but for now, I’m just so happy the book is finally available.  The journey from 2007 has been a long one, but I’m very proud of the result.

Life is about to get real in Mulholland Creek.

Hoover High sophomore, Ali Harvist, and reality show ‘It’ girl, Chloe Winterhaven, exist in two completely different worlds. When Ali’s family abruptly relocates from Ohio to the exclusive oceanside community of Mulholland Creek, California, the lives of these young women unexpectedly collide. Attending the same school that serves as a backdrop for the hit television show Mulholland High only adds to the drama. In alternating first-person chapters, follow the young women as they contend with an exclusive play premiere, a manipulative (and unfortunately all-too attractive) ex-boyfriend, budding new loves, and a slimy executive producer – all while the cameras are rolling!

Take One at Mulholland High is a light-hearted novel perfect for fans of Meg Cabot and MTV’s The Hills.